Newbie here

Hello to all you wonderful carers who do a brilliant.
I’ll try not to waffle on too much. so a little about me…im 54 lived in france 13 years after a marriage breakdown i returned to the family home both parents had strokes mum was a double amputee so both housebound thou dad could get around alittle which he did in his early years of his stroke, both had home care x2 a day then i rolled back to the nest and became a unpaid carer but i also work as a home help for elderly sometimes i felt that was respite and quite a few times i would just sit in my car outside bracing myself thinking what has mum done today.

. right deep breath lets go in , normally she had done something either got stuck in her electric wheelchair(such a bad driver, nickname 'demolition Doreen)
Or a phone scam and shes bought something from them …again!!
A demanding lady at the best of times
But sadly shes no longer with us so its just dad now who’s 86 he had 2 carers x4 a day at the moment hes in hospital his dementia seems to have got worse even more so since hes been in there
I did say i wouldn’t waffle on …i do believe i have …sorry!
Sandy :blush:

HI Sandy and welcome,
lots of carers on here, with experience of supporting the elderly and also those with dementia.
I’m sure they will be along of the next few days.

Melly1

Hi Sandy, welcome to the forum. You are a daughter in a million, moving back to the UK to care for mum and dad.
Dementia is a cruel disease, and can creep slowly, or cause a rapid decline.

Have the hospital started talking about future care with you?
Would you like dad to move back in with you, or has the time now come for full time residential care?

Do mum and dad own, or rent, their home?
Did you know that since the day dad was diagnosed with dementia, he was exempt from Council Tax? If not, then contact the council.
Do you have Power of Attorney?
Do you have any brothers and sisters?