Hello from a newbie

Helln

I have finally taken the plunge and decided to post on here, after many visits to browse and look for anything that will help me. Ironically, one of my responsibilities at work is for Carers, but as many of us do, we ignore our own advice!

I am a Carer for my Dad, he is in hospital at the moment after a couple of falls recently. The last two/three weeks are like I have been put through a wringer and then flattened by a steam roller. Luckily our GP has been brilliant and gave me a fit note straight away.

So that’s a bit about me and where I’m at.

Speak soon x

hello Nadine, I’m a newbie to, but I cant find a way to ‘write a bit about myself’.
glad you had better luck…perhaps im just thick ! Pearl

Hi to both of you. If you don’t want to write about yourself, just tell us how old you are, how old your caree is, and what is the matter with them, or what support they need. We can then ask a few questions, usually to make sure you are getting all the help, support, benefits etc. that you and your caree are entitled to.

Hello and welcome!

Do you mind telling us a bit more about yourself? What is his disability? Has he had a needs assessment or not? How long have you cared for him? Are you aware that there are benefits he can claim? The two main ones to apply for are pip and esa. Citizen’s Advice Bureau can help you to fill out the application forms correctly.

Hello

Sorry for the delay, what with hospital visiting, phone calls to update people and my phone battery giving up the ghost, it’s been a right day!

Dad is 80 and I have been helping him with various things for a while now, but things have got more full on over the last year or so. He has numerous health issues: AF, angina, IHD, stage 3 CKD, Diabetes type 2, osteoarthritis in both knees and ankles, under investigation for ILD/PF & heart failure…