New to this

Hi. I’m a mental health nurse who cares for a daughter with mental health issues. She uses me as an emotional punch bag and although I can handle it in work I struggle with it when it’s my daughter. I just feel so drained lately

Hi Collette and welcome.
It’s different caring/supporting carees to those we care/support in our professional life isn’t it.

I teach children with autism and learning disability, at home I care for S, now grown up but with the same conditions. Thankfully, a lot of the time he is now less challenging than the children at school, but it can still be a “busman’s holiday.” At work we are part of a team, at home we have no one else to call on. Also at work, we do shifts - at home this isn’t the case. I find myself comparing how I am at school and expect myself to be as professional with S - as do many teachers!

Others on here with experience of parenting/caring/ living with those with MH needs, I’m sure they will be along.

Melly1

Hi Collette
I cared for my young adult son through a 7 year period of severe depression without any medical or professional help at all. He refused to see a doctor and no one would talk to us becuase he was an adult. I joined this forum at an absolute low and it has been a godsend.