Hubby has no idea he has dementia

I have had a rather bizarre evening. A week ago our GP assessed my hubby and told us he has dementia. Hubby since then has not mentioned the visit and seems quite happy with life. I found it difficult to accept that he had completely forgotten all about the visit and diagnosis. However, this evening there was a program on the TV called Missing which was about people with dementia going missing. He watched the whole program with interest but without any understanding that he had the same problem. I’m new at this and have so much to learn. Is this common? I had thought he would be upset to learn he had dementia not that he would forget he has it.

With dementia - nothing is impossible when it comes to behaviour and understanding, nothing is even strange after a while to an onlooker.

Forgetting things is very commonplace - my mother used to complain that she didn’t know/couldn’t remember what day/date it was: I thought I offered her a simple solution, turn on the TV and check on Ceefax/Teletext - but she couldn’t remember to do it.

They really are off in a world of their own once it bites.

My wife was the same. Never knew what she had and as she had a great dread of getting it I
never told her she had it !

My husband was the same. He sadly was in a nursing home because prior to dementia had suffered strokes. He forgot he had them too. I don’t believe anyone in the home, ( was for dementia residents with complex needs) realised they had dementia. It can be a blessing to them, not to understand, but a very cruel thing to loved ones.