Hi everyone glad to be here

Hi everyone, I’m new to this. I’m relatively new to all of this seeking help generally.

I have probably had some kind of caring duties since I was 16, I’m now 25 y/o. I’m supporting a parent with their long term mental health, mainly in the form of emotional support and presence (being home and available in situations that are difficult for them, which are a lot of situations), and trying to help them face situations that make them anxious, probably more things too. Because my caring is more emotional than practical that has sometimes made me feel I’m not really a carer, but it does impact my life and my freedom is quite restricted, things like never having stayed away for more than one night at 25, despite having the money, friends, partner, confidence, etc to do so. That’s just one example and I tell myself it’s minor, but I do find myself feeling low and anxious, I am so used to putting everyone else’s needs first I have lost sight of my own hopes and wishes.

I have had counselling for approximately a year as I am training to be in the field myself (which makes me feel even more ridiculous for struggling!) and that was helpful. I was always recommended to reach out to carers support but never managed to, due to feeling so guilty as I feel my caree has it worse than me and here I am complaining. Why do so many of us feel guilty? Anyways here I am, I’m scared to even share more information as I’m feeling guilty, worrying that if my caree knew I was writing this then they’d feel a burden to me, which they aren’t as I love them dearly, it’s just difficult.

Thanks for reading, looking forward to connecting with others.

Hi Isabelle, and welcome!