Caring for mum

Hi, mum recently spent 11 weeks in hospital following a bad fall. She needed a hip replacement and badly fractured her shoulder. She got all sorts of infections, plus covid during her stay in hospital. She lived on her own before her fall, I helped her, having food delivered etc, sorted out all her bills and any house and garden maintenance. When she was discharged we brought her to our house as she can’t manage by herself. I also live about two hours away from her house. She is 81, her mobility is poor, slowly improving but she needs a lot of help. She has other conditions which are making progress harder. I’m new to caring for someone and I’m finding it exhausting. We haven’t applied for attendance allowance yet or any other financial support. She was only discharged a week ago. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I’m afraid that bringing he home was a very bad move.

Mum should have had a discharge plan and the hospital should have arrange a 6 week package of free care for her. If she couldn’t manage at home at all, she could have gone temporarily into respite care. Was any of this explained to you?

Presumably you are in a different hospital area, and a different local authority for Social Services?
Were you told how much care she would need?
Did you bring mum home in a car, or did she need an ambulance?

Make a list of everything mum needs help with, and we may be able to resolve things.
Does mum own or rent her home?
Does she have over £23,000 in savings? (Yes/No).
Apply for Attendance Allowance immediately. I think you can do it online now. Don’t be dismayed by the form, most of it will be irrelevant to your mum’s situation.

Hi Yvonne

It is like wading through glue when you first start caring for Mum, the most important thing I found was to make sure I kept a note book of who I had spoken to, what they had said and what they were going to do so I could refer back to when I next spoke to them.