Already Stressed

Hi,

I’m new to caring - my mum came out of hospital 10 days ago, she’s in a hospital bed in the living room and on an oxygen concentrator. The carers come in the morning to wash and dress her and at night to get her into nightwear but I do everything else.

I had just been made redundant due to the pandemic when mum was taken in hospital 3 months ago and so am currently on Universal credit but they are saying i need to continue to look for work as mum does not yet qualify for attendance allowance and therefore i do not qualify for benefits as a carer but I simply cant leave her alone and to be honest I’m totally exhausted anyway. I’m up in the middle of the night as she needs the commode and then in the day it’s meds, feeding, commode requirements as well as washing and changing clothes and bedding. How can they expect me to work as well? Leaving her alone would put her at risk as she has a rare condition which causes hypos without any warning (she doesn’t have diabetes).

So sorry for rambling but I needed to get this off my chest as I’m just so stressed.

Thanks for listening.

I can’t answer your question, but if you ring the Carers UK helpline, I’m sure they will know the answer.

Can I ask a few questions about mum, there might be some things to help you.
Apologies in advance!

Were you involved at all in the discharge plan?
How old is mum? You?
I don’t know what an oximeter is used for, so can you say what she is suffering from?
Does mum own or rent her house? This is a VERY important question to answer.
Do you have Power of Attorney?
Does mum have over £23,000 in savings (Yes/No).
Has anyone mentioned free care for mum, through NHS Continuing Healthcare?
Have Social Services done a Needs Assessment?

Hi,