I'm New To CarersUK (2)

I’m new to Carers UK. I’ve only been caring for my 95 year old mother for 6 weeks and I’m struggling… can anyone offer me advice…

Debby, what help does mum need? Or is it easier to ask what she can do for herself now?
Does she have physical disabilities, or mental issues?
Is she claiming Attendance Allowance?
Do you have power of Attorney?

Hi Debby,

welcome to the forum.

Perhaps you could tell us a little more about your Mum and your caring situation.

Melly1

Sorry it’s taken a while to reply. Being new to caring and learning to use a new site Is difficult for me.
In answer to questions, mum is recently receiving attendance allowance, my brother and I have p.o.a.
Advice required on my mother switching off when we are in need of a serious conversation. She is a lovely frail lady, with mobility problems is aware of everything. I feel very lonely as my 5 siblings are getting on with their lives and congratulating me for taken care of her. Which I hate. My 2 brothers would like to see her in a residential home, not my mothers wishes at all, 1 sister says she’s too poorly to care for her but would if she could, another sister says she has no room at the inn and my other sister has severe learning disabilities, so she’s fine. No one will visit her even now (Covid 19 restrictions sort of lifted) to sit in the garden with her. They do live 70 miles from me but I would visit them to see my mum. At the end of the day I was the most unfavourite child she had, yet I’m the one she now relies on and lives with. My husband has excepted her with open arms. I feel torn between the 2 and trying to share myself. Help I’m doing my best.
Sorry for the ramblings.
Debby

Hi Debby,

You CANNOT be forced to care. From what you say, mum is very frail, and you are doing everything for her?
It doesn’t have to be like this, but in order to get help you first need to think about taking a step back.
Think about what would help you most, what YOU want.