About payments

Hi i am new to this. I have been caring for my sister since june. I applied for carers allowence i recived a letter today stating i have been awarded but they need more payment details before payments are made. I have rang them straight away and they just needed to know if i received and sick pay in my last 2 wages from work. I didnt and they said it will get dealt with today hopefully. Does anyone know how long it will take to receive a payment. Tia

Hi Kayleigh.

Time between application and payment could be several weeks depending on their workload.

Once approved , will be back dated to the date they received your application.

Only fly in the ointment might be your earnings … £ 123 weekly limit … over that and NO CA !

So , when the payment is received , try synchronizing it with your earnings to ensure no gap ?

Thank upu for upur respnse. I didnt have and earnings from when i applied i gave them the date after my last wage slip. It said on the letter i have been awarded ca i just wonderd after ive given them the information today how long would it be now to receive a payment. Is it quite quick or do i still have a long wait lol.

__

Is it quite quick or do i still have a long wait lol.

Don’t put the kettle on … just yet ?

As it said you HAVE been awarded it, hopefully it won’t be too long. Usually it’s that initial decision that takes the time.

Would you like to tell us a bit more about your new caring situation, how old you and your sister are, why she needs help, and what you do for her, we might be able to make a few suggestions.

Is she able to manage her own money?
Do you own, or rent, your home?