Yikes! I’m new to all this

My husband has stage 4 cancer and has just had surgery resulting in 2 stomas. The first surgery wasn’t a complete success and he had to have a second operation and of course is very frail now. He’s been in hospital for the past 11 weeks but they’re now talking about getting him home (he really wants to go home now) and whilst I really want him home it scares me as I feel like I’m about to become a 24/7carer
and my life is about to be turned upside down (at least while he was in hospital i could escape home and of course the ‘nursing’ aspect wasn’t my responsibility) in addition to running the family business. I know he will need a lot of support, both medical and practical which I will talk to the hospital about this week. Do any of you have any tips that might help me navigate this new life? Also, can anyone recommend an easy (and cheap) way that he can summon my help if I’m not in the same room (some sort of buzzer I guess. The ones on amazon are either expensive or get mixed reviews)
He’s a shadow of the man I married but occasionally that man surfaces with a smile that melts my heart. I’m hoping that once he’s home he’ll want to eat a bit more and will regain some weight and some strength.
Sorry if it seems like I’m whinging; I guess I just needed to say it.

Hi Tess … welcome to the forum.

Extremely quiet on here as I type … a holding reply pending others extending their welcomes and advice.

Two things leap out from your posting.

Hospital discharge ?

The BIBLE :

Being discharged from hospital - NHS

In short , by the book or … NO DISCHARGE.

CHC / NHS Continuing Healthcare.

Mentioned / offered / applied for / refused ?

Main thread … colour coded to help find whatever information is needed :

https://www.carersuk.org/forum/support-and-advice/all-about-caring/chc-coughlan-grogan-judgements-nhs-contuing-healthcare-nhs-fnc-hospital-discharges-all-under-this-one-thread-35998