New to caring

Hi there
I’m new to caring. My husband has acute lung disease and has recently had a rapid deterioration in his health. He had a collapsed lung which due to his condition was quite difficult to fix, it took about 3 months. He has lost about 5 stone over the past 3 years and is drastically under wait.
Since he came out of hospital about 4 weeks ago I have been his career as he can’t do much for himself. I don’t mind this even tho it is very wearing…we also have a dog and I work, only 10 hours a week now.
I find it difficult to get my head around how I feel, how I should feel and what’s the right way to feel.
My husband is unable to go out as he can only walk a few steps before needing his oxygen. Our lives have stopped and I don’t think they will ever br the same again. We have ordered a mobility scooter for him which will hopefully help get him out but this also stresses me out as to where we can go with it will he be ok on it etc.
Life is just full of changes and it is just soooooo difficult.
Rant over x

Hi and welcome.

Welcome to the forum. Did the hospital arrange 6 weeks free Reablement Care?
Did they arrange an NHS Continuing Healthcare Assessment for him?
Did they assess your home and arrange for all required aids to be provided before discharge?
You need a Carers Assessment from Social Services to enable you to talk about your caring role, and they can consider how they can help you
Is your husband receiving Attendance Allowance or PIP.
We are here to help if we can, caring is difficult and non carers just don’t understand.

Hello Lynn

Welcome to the forum.

Please phone the Carers UK helpline and have Bowlingbuns reply to hand as a shortlist for things to ask and discuss with them for advice.

Carers UK information and support
Our telephone Helpline is available on 0808 808 7777 from Monday to Friday, 9am – 6pm or you can contact us by email (advice@carersuk.org)

Hi Lynn