Safeguarding and GP

Hi, my siblings and I have been caring for my 86 year old mum since 2012. She has a form of MND and now cannot speak. She is compas mentus but struggles to make some decisions. We have POA for health decisions. This year whenever I gave had to speak to the GP about anything they always turn it asking if she wants to have a DNR slapped on her. This is difficult subject to broach in anyone let alone an elderly old school person. Now today the GP and practice manager at the health centre rang and informed us they are sending in safeguarding team to investigate. This has been a shock to us and an insult. Has anyone else been in this situation, does anyone have any advice? Thank you in advance.

Oh Wendy,

How stressful and worry inducing.

On what grounds are they raising safeguarding issues?

As our Mum can no longer speak, but is still has capacity, does she have a communication system in place?

I suggest you read up on Elderly safeguarding so that you are prepared https://www.ageuk.org.uk/globalassets/age-uk/documents/factsheets/fs78_safeguarding_older_people_from_abuse_fcs.pdf

I’m sure they will see how well you all care for your Mum.

Does your Mum have visits from other professionals?

Melly1

I’m dismayed. Are the saying whatever you decide they ARE going to put a DNR on file???

It is not their choice to make! Mum gave you POA when she was well because she wanted YOU to decide for her, knowing you love her, and she trusts you completely.

I would lock the door and not let them in.

Thank you Melly1. That is very useful.
They have not highlighted anything solid with us and we were told over a very sketchy phone call where various things were randomly brought up such as a CT scan which mum felt she wasn’t up to having.