New here caring for my mum

Hi
I’m new here. I care for my 87 year old mum. She has a variety of health issues - severe arthritis, diabetes, heart issues as well as mental health issues and dementia. I cannot get her GP surgery to take any action re the clear signs of dementia so I’m just soildering on as best I can. I’m a supply teacher, I have 2 children still living at home as well as 2 dogs and husband. Feel like everything is a battle and a bit worn down.

Hi @Lilith and welcome!

The only suggestion I have that may help is that you write down your mum’s mental health symptoms as they were, say 5-10 years ago, and the totality of her symptoms now, including those you attribute to dementia, and ask the doctor to read them, and tell you why it;s not dementia, as you don’t understand.

I think what is happening is that the GP is attributing everything to your mum’s mental health issues. But they don’t insulate her from dementia - in fact, from my understanding it may well be the opposite.

Hi Lilith,

Welcome to the forum. Life sounds full on.

Nothing to add Charles’ advice re getting her tested for dementia.

Does she claim attendance allowance and have help from paid carers as well as support from you?

They think her mental health is fine too. And she gets attendance allowance but I’m the only person who does anything for her.

In my experience the NHS are very reluctant to diagnose dementia. I am caring for my 85 year old medically non compliant husband who I am convinced has Frontotemporal Dementia. However although the scan showed moderate shrinkage of the frontotemporal lobes the Memory Clinic discharged him in May last year because he passed the memory test.

I agree with keeping a diary and then using this to write or show the GP . Would she accept outside Carers to help her? Has the GP done a memory test?