Respite

I have been caring for my wife for three years. During the past two years mainly because of her mobility problems, arising from a fall in our home which resulted in a broken hip, wrist, broken upper arm near the shoulder and a dislocated collar-bone. An emergency operation followed, then a few weeks in a rehabilitation centre near our home, followed physiotherapy at home. All seemed well and progress was being made until the pain increased in the upper arm and mobility decreased there. A subsequent scan revealed that one of the two nails pinning her arm together had moved. That was September 2017.

Eventually, an operation to replace her shoulder was scheduled for February this year. When we turned up for the op, the surgeon decided not to go ahead because my wife had acute facial dermatitis. Since then. we having been waiting for a new date and several pre-op assessments later it has arrived, 2 January 2019.