Hello

Hi,

I’m new here and I’m in a bad spot mentally. I’ve been caring for my wife for 8 years now. She had a PIP assessment recently and despite health wise being worse than she’s ever been, they decided to strip me of my carers allowance and say she’s not entitled to PIP. I’m hurt, and I’m angry. Right now I have 15p left for the next week. The electric is going on emergency credit soon and I’ve sent in a mandatory reconsideration.

I’ve noticed myself becoming angrier and angrier as I feel now its harder than ever to do this. I don’t have a choice. I have to make do with what we have. I also don’t have the option of getting a job because my wife needs full time care.

I also suffer with chronic pain and depression. I feel like it’s a struggle not to be irritated and blow up over little things. So I’ve decided to bottle things up but I feel like that’s not working.

I’m hoping people on here might understand where I’m coming from. Anyway, that’s my moan out of the way.

I don’t really do much else but be a carer. And it’s making me resent people just how isolated I’ve become when I could really use some help.

Hello and welcome!

Have you had a needs assessment or not?

Hello Shaun

That’s really tough. It is so hard being a carer without having financial worries on top.

And I think most of us carers feel that caring negatively affects us either physically or mentally or both. It’s not surprising you are feeling irritable. I find that when things go wrong things just pile up and my irritation grows, usually when I feel something is unjust. Or if I feel too much is expected of me. I find exercise helps with this if I want to switch off other times listening to music helps.

Are you able to get out for half an hour walk each day. Exercise is good for relieving tension. But I am not sure if your chronic pain stops you from walking far?

Would be worth going to your GP too.

Cab may be able to help with money advice.

Tell us about your wife?