Hi I’m new to this group, my Mum was diagnosed with Altzimers 3 days ago. Although I kind of knew she had something, when the Nurse actually said she had Altzimers … I can’t put into words how it made me feel. I’m terrified I won’t be able to care for Mum and my Dad who has a blood condition. My sister comes up once a week to help out but otherwise I’m all on my own with this. I work in a school 4 days a week. I feel so very overwhelmed but guilty for feeling that way.

You have nothing to feel guilty about, that sort of diagnosis, however much you know there is something wrong, still takes time to come to terms with.
Don’t make any quick decisions about anything.

Don’t think you must care alone for your parents, there are lots of options to consider.
Tell us a bit more about mum and dad, and we will be able to make appropriate suggestions.
How old are they?
Do they own or rent their home?
Do they have over £46,000 savings between them (Yes/No)
Do you have Power of Attorney for your parents?
Do you have any brothers or sisters?
Do you have a partner or children?
What support does dad need at the moment?

Hi Victoria

Sorry to hear about your mum’s diagnosis, I can understand it’s a shock and you’re concerned about the future. As a forum ambassador I wanted to wish you a warm welcome to the forum and to highlight some of the options for connecting with fellow carers at all different stages of the caring journey, and for getting support from Carers UK should you need it. I’m sure there are fellow forum members who can give you some advice based on similar experiences to you

Carers UK are running online weekly meet ups for carers to take some time for themselves and chat to other carers. Feel free to join if you’d like to and there’s no pressure to share anything you don’t want to.

You can find information on how to register to our online meetups at the following pages: