newbie to the forum

Hi, I am Julie 62 years old and find myself being a carer for my 88 year ols mother. She is still quite mentally alert but her mobility is not good. She has had many falls and how she hasnt broken any bones I dont really know.
I also work part time for Mencap, so I am a professional carer too.

I am lucky that ny husband has reitred, but we have just found out that brother has been diagnosed with cancer, they live 2 hours away in birmingham and he lives with my 89 year old father in law. It looks as if my husband will have to spend some time down there helping them out.
:ugeek:

Hi Julie … welcome to an extremely quiet forum as I type.

" Interesting " times ahead.

Any areas we can help with ?

What immediately spring to mind are :

Outside care support.

Upto date Needs and Carer Assessments.

Benefits / allowances … all out there being claimed ?

Brother / father-in-law … potential housing problems … especially if tenants … either social or b.t.l. … rent ?

Eventually , outside care support to keep each safe and secure ?

Your choice … others will be along to add their insights and extend their welcomes.

Hi Julie, welcome to the forum. I’ve been a multiple carer, it’s very difficult and can easily take over your whole life, if you let it.

The key is NOT to be a hands on carer, but a Care “supervisor”, making sure all the carees have what they need, without doing any regular “hands on” caring.
MUM- when did she last have a Needs Assessment from Social Services?
Does she have a Falls Alarm?
A Lifeline pendant?
Does she have over £23,000 in savings?
Own her home? Or now living with you?
Do you have Power of Attorney?

Similar questions for both those in Birmingham. Do NOT dash off at a moment’s notice, plan what you realistically can do, and arrange services for regular care and treatment.
How advanced is the cancer?
How much care does dad need?

Hello and welcome!