Very tired after years of looking after my husband

I’m very tired after years of looking after my husband with copd
Recently he had his appendix removed which led to 7 weeks in hospital and was very weakened and de conditioned, lost about 2 stone in weight and cannot walk or move independently and has indwelling catheter
He was discharged home with a 6 week carers package but owing to Xmas holidays, has not yet had physiotherapy at home
I am doing my beat to get him to eat, drink and have some mobilisation etc but finding it hard
Our closest friends and relatives are all a long way and I’m feeling very sad
I am a retired nurse ( many years ago) which possibly makes it more difficult as I know the problems we are facing
I am longing to get back to my current work which would take me away from early morning in Saturdays and alternate Tuesdays but feel I can never leave him whilst he is so frail
I can see a very scary future being isolated and both of us feeling lonely
My husband , obviously, has lost his sense of humour and most of our conversations are about how he is, with me trying to get him to eat or drink or monitoring his illness
My friends all see me as a “coper ” but I feel very inadequate at present as this is too difficult
I would welcome any comments
K

Hi Kay,
Welcome to the forum, not surprised you are feeling the pressure at the moment.

You definitely NEED to keep working, for your own sanity. Your hubby will benefit too, as you will have had time apart and a Caree’s wellbeing is inextricably linked to a Carer’s wellbeing.

Have you had a Carer’s assessment to see if you can get any extra support for hubby to allow you to keep working? Would it be possible to jiggle his current care visits so he has more on the days you are normally working and less when you aren’t? If he doesn’t have a pendant for summoning help in an emergency, then that might be worth considering.