Mum is abusive to carers and family

Hi, this is my first post.
I’ve been caring for my parents for several years, my mum has community carers who visit day and night to take care of toileting, washing and dressing.
I wonder if anyone has experience of a mother who is abusive to carers (and family) but has no other obvious signs of dementia?
My mum doesn’t seem to have memory problems but she is certainly displaying behavioural problems. She is horrible to pretty much everyone. My dad gets constantly corrected by her even though I’ve told her that he forgets things due to vascular dementia. She wants dad to make her meals and has refused for me or the carers to do it even though he has said he is finding it a struggle. She hates him going anywhere; in the past when I’ve taken him shopping she will get really annoyed if we were slightly longer because I got him a coffee. She never wants to go out herself and when I have taken her she wants to get back after half an hour in case she misses her care visit.
She is totally averse to change of any kind and has literally screamed at both my sister and I for doing things which keep her clean and safe, like washing her sheets without asking her first. She has a history of being verbally abusive to her carers but has begun, on occasion to get physically abusive too. Her doctor suspects some form of dementia but the tests are slow to be done (understandably due to Covid)
She will sometimes apologise a day or so after an outburst but doesn’t seem upset that she acted badly, she just wants to be excused.
I used to struggle with her behaviour a lot more but recently decided to just be as kind and calm as I could no matter what she throws at me and though it hasn’t changed her behaviour, changing my mindset has definitely been beneficial to me.
I’ve been told that if she continues to abuse her carers then they can refuse care and I really don’t know where that would leave us.