Looking for advice re house

Hi All

Im currently living at home with my elderly mother and 11 year old daughter, obviously not an ideal situation.

Im a self employed taxi driver and mum is currently going through challenging times with her state of mind.
She is currently waiting for a memory assesment at the memory clinic for a diagnosis ( been for first contact )
we are both fully aware of the outcome and she knows that her state of mind isnt good.

My mum is the homeowner, but i pay all the bills etc in return for, HELPING out around the house, shopping maintenence etc,
at this moment in time she can still dress herself and do all the daily living needs.

My concern is what will happen if and when she needs to go in a home ( if she does ) to our home/house as it is the family home and i (son ) and my daughter live here.

She does have saving’s over the allowed threshold but they will go in a flash in care fees.

Cheers

Paul

Edited by moderator, to protect poster’s identity

Hi Paul.

The scenario as set out looks about right.

Parent moves into a care home … home at risk for fees … anyone under 60 COULD potentially be made homeless.

Green Paper Social Care … when finally announced , that ball game MAY change.

To formalize your options , I would have a word with either the CAB or SHELTER.

__

My mum is the homeowner, but i pay all the bills etc in return for, HELPING out around the house, shopping maintenence etc,
at this moment in time she can still dress herself and do all the daily living needs.

I assume a good old fashioned barter type arrangement ?

An equitable interest ?

One for either the CAB or SHELTER , me thinks.

Hi Paul,
Welcome to the forum and sorry to hear that your Mum may be starting on the downward slide of dementia.