I've had enough of caring for my mum

Hello.
I’ve been caring for my mum for the past 15 years. I have a brother who does very little for her and spends very little time with her. I take her out, on holiday, do all sorts of jobs for her. After a recent hospital stay we persuaded her to have carers. After two weeks she cancelled them without telling me. I was not happy.
Mum doesnt ask me to do things - she kind of expects me to guess what she needs doing. In her head if she doesnt ask then she is ‘independent’!
Things came to a head recently when I complained to her that my brother needed to do more and she said she didnt want his feelings hurting or to have any falling out. So I told her that wasnt on - Why should his feelings be protected, and hers but mine not be important. I havent spoken to either of them now for ten days - this has never happened before.
Ive had a childhood where I helped to care for my grandmother when she was sick and my younger brother as my mum was a single parent. I’ve had enough. I want my life. Am I selfish? What do I do? Anyone been through this?
My husband and I plan to move away to have some freedom…
Thank you
Bamboo

Hi Bamboo, you are being taken completely for granted.
Mum has NO right to ANY of your time.
Do you like your home? If so, then don’t move, just stick up for yourself, and say enough is enough.
Cancelling the carers without telling you is really the last straw.

I would suggest that you and your husband both go on holiday, for at least a week, ideally a fortnight.
Turn off your phones, relax.
Work out a future plan.
My husband and I cared in different ways for all four parents. Sadly, he died of a massive heart attack before my mum died, yet still she moaned about being cheated because dad died too young at 78. Never a thought about me and my husband who had died at 58!
So many dreams never came true. Don’t let this happen to you.