Help with a possible claim?

Hi! I have been providing full time care for my mother for over 8 years now (she receives PIP and universal credit) and it’s only recently I’ve heard about the possibility of claiming Carer’s allowance/Carer’s credits. It was suggested to us a number of times by citizens advice and my employer. My concern is that I work 30 hours a week and earn well above the current £123 threshold. I have changed jobs, reduced working hours and struggled to adjust shifts and childcare arrangements (I also have 2 children) so that I am still able to provide the much needed care my mum needs and be able to earn a living.
When I have searched online I’m under the assumption that regardless of how many hours I care for her (which is above 35 hours) that I won’t be entitled to anything due to my earnings - is this the case full stop or are there other considerations? Also, what exactly are carers credits? Would I be entitled to this as I already pay NI, tax contributions and an NHS pension.
I apologies for this long post however I am struggling with the cost of some of my caring duties (ie. taking time off for mums appointments or emergencies or I’m using up the majority of my leave entitlements and trying to maintain costs with running her around or on her behalf numerous times a week) and just wanted to know if there is anything I am entitled to without having to give up my job - this is not something I want to do as my work is the only place I go to ‘get a break’ but a little help is needed now.

Hi Amy … now on my " Midnight " shift … having logged on at 7.30 this morning.

Magic figure is £ 123 per week BEFORE Carers Allowance drops off a cliff … £ 122.99 + CA , no problem.

Is possible to earn more PROVIDED THAT any excess is marshalled … most common method is through a persanal pension plan.

Elsewhere on this site , CUK have provided some guidance :

__

You don’t earn over £123 a week (after deductions)