Benefits maze query

Hi everyone,

I’ve just realised I have been caring for some time now but the needs of my parent are more acute so it’s really hit me.

I can only work part-time remotely and cannot seem to apply for carers allowance because as a freelancer my income fluctuates but at times is more than the minimum weekly requirement.

Is there any other help which I am missing. Looking for a grant perhaps.

Thanks.

Hi Gail8. Welcome and well done for posting.

First of all, have you checked out the CUK Benefits Guide section?

Benefits for carers who are working age | Carers UK? There are other guides which may be of help.

Do your parents claim Attendance Allowance? If so you should be able to claim Carers Allowance and it opens up access to other benefits and help. Also may I recommend that you ensure your GP (and your parents GP) has you registered as Carers so you get consideration for other care support yourself. I’ve recently found this of benefit to me.

Also contact your Local Authority to ask for (may need to push a little) for a Carer’s Assessment - that focusses on YOUR needs, not your parents and they will often give a small grant (I got £200 toward gym membership to encourage me to get out for ME time) and you can use this for whatever you want at the end of the day. The Assessment identifies your needs and what you need to enable you to carry on Caring.