Hello to all

I have been caring for my husband for the past 4 years. He had a serious breakdown and my world was turned upside down. I am relieved to say that he has improved but my own health has deteriorated and we are now in the position of trying to care for one another.

Hi Barbara,
Spotted your post just before I log off so a quick ‘welcome to the forum’.
Tell us a little more, for example what age group are you in?
It’s great that you support each other but do you get any breaks, either together or briefly apart from each other? Are friends and/or family in touch and visiting?
Is there something you miss doing? What difficulties are you experiencing?
Are you in receipt of any/all benefits you are entitled to?
Others will be along soon to say ‘hello’.
KR
Elaine

Hi Barbara,

Welcome to the forum. I know how difficult it is to say "I can’t…"but sometimes it’s essential.

Can I ask who else you are trying to care for, as well as your husband?

A little more information for you.

I am 77 years of age and diagnosed with diabetes, m.e./fibromyalgia, high blood pressure, glaucoma, hiatus hernia and IBS, so as you can see I am a mess!
My husband has memory problems.
At present I only care for my husband as my mother in law died a year ago. I had been caring for both her and my husband until her death.
I do have 2 daughters who assist us as much as they can but they have their own families and problems. However, I belong to a Carer’s Group and have made a number of friends and the support I get here is great. Not sure where I would have been now if I hadn’t found this group some time after my husband had his diagnosis.
I used to be very active but my mobility isn’t very good at present.
Just this week my very close friend went into permanent care with Alzheimer’s. For the past 8 years I have seen her go from a bright, intelligent and fun loving person to just a shell that she now is. This is heartbreaking! Feeling very sad at present.

Hi Barbara,