Hello! Newbie here advice appreciated

Hi,
I work as a home carer so have a good understanding of how care is given etc but I visit elderly people in their own homes and am struggling t find out the answer to my query
My Dad is in long term residential care (self funded and I have power of attorney for finance and health) and has been for 2 1/2 years following a stroke. We have recently sold his house (his decision) and the care home obviously are aware of this. I live in London and Dad is in Somerset so between my Sister and I we visit on a weekly basis and all other contact is by phone.
He currently has a normal divan bed (provided by the care home) when my Sister visited yesterday she was told that he needed a new bed (hospital type profiling bed) - The reason given is that he is struggling to sleep and needs propping up as he is also having problems breathing/swallowing. I have today spoken to social services (who have had no contact with him for at least 18 months) and was advised that the district nurse would have to do a needs assessement.
As far as my Sister advises me is that they are expecting us to buy this bed for him - now as its a “need” should they be providing the bed? He is completely wheelchair bound so its not as if we can take him anywhere for a “fitting”

I dont particularly like the care home but it was his decision to stay in Somerset and he is happy there - I dont want to bow down to there ever increasing demands so hope that someone can give some impartial advice.

Thank you

Hi janice … welcome to an extremely quiet forum as I type.

Try as I may , no definitive answer from an Internet search … one of a more simple questions that is overlooked in many
of the sites out there providing guidance on the nuts and bolts of care home fees when one is self funded.

Needs assessment would also include a financial assessment … at face value , no help there ?

I would bounce the question of AGE UK … the experts in this field :