Hello - am I being selfish?

Hi everyone - so my name is Sonia and I live in Derbyshire with my husband N and two of my three girls.
I have been a carer for my husband N since 1994. N has Rheumatoid Arthritis and over the years his condition has worsened. He has been on many of the drugs and sadly now been told that he has exhausted all current treatments, including the biologics. His has kidney problems, diverticulitis and AF which have all be caused by past drugs or treatments. He has also been diagnosed with Osteo in recent months. N tries to keep going - he does really well. But lately he has been struggling, particularly with his AF. We are now waiting to see a cardiologist. So that is the background. Now for the selfish part - I have a little part-time job, just a few hours a week… I work as an Activities Coordinator at a local Residential home and absolutely love it. The trouble is, I feel like I am being selfish leaving N - especially as he is at the moment. I don’t know what to do - is it right that I feel selfish or should I be having time away from our busy home. What do you think - be lovely to hear from other carers. Thank you.

Hi Sonia,Ian 54 full time carer for father 93… your not selfish,just a human response to your situation,it’s good that you have a part-time job.being a carer is the most differcult job in the world(we all understand how you feel).anything I can help you with don’t be frightened to ask. Ian

I understand how rewarding your job is Sonia. I did the same job for 16 years but at a Day Centre and loved it.

It’s not selfish of you at all. We all need time to ourselves. A few hours a week is not going to have an adverse effect on your husband.