Do I have a legal/social responsible to care for partner?

My partner is blind and I work as a self employed contractor. There seems to be an underlying assumption that I am her carer. I work 70 hours a week and care informally (shopping, cleaning etc) but we are in hospital at the moment and there is the assumption I will do a caring role (portering/cleaning/navigating/orientating and caring) but to be blunt I have reports and deadlines to meet.

We aren’t married. So I got to thinking, is this a social service/health responsibility or my responsibility? I am a high earner so wouldn’t meet any kind of means test criteria.

Any help would be great as this is causing me so much stress. I had gout the other night whilst staying over and had to keep getting out of bed to help her find toilet roll etc. I am also disabled and have mental health condition (complex PTSD).

Hi John.

Straight answer ?

NO LEGAL OBLIGATION WHATSOEVER !

So … simply stop caring ?

Welcome to CarerLand wherein such questions do NOT have such simple answers !

A moral responsibility ?

What happens if I stop caring ?

Valid questions … no one size fits all answer.

8.8 MILLION family / kinship carers out there ( Latest fiqure quoted in a House of Lords debate on Monday ).

Ask yourself just one question.

Why 8.8 million ?

And , on the terms and conditions so aptly outlined by our Lord Kitch ???

https://www.carersuk.org/forum/news-and-campaigns/latest-caring-news/lord-kitch-poster-our-tombstone-all-our-concerns-under-one-thread-some-20-years-veterans-make-up-the-majority-27982?hilit=lord%20kitch

Because if you don’t care for the caree , who else will ???

Need help ?

Needs / carer assessments for starters … I’ll supply links if these are total unknowns to you.

Well some people have to work or the country won’t have an economy. I don’t want to give up work and become a carer.