Introduce myself

Just wanted to say a quick hi to what seems to be a very welcoming forum.

I’m Ryan. I’m a full time teacher and also a carer for my girlfriend who has POTS, EDS, fibromyalgia, prolapsed discs and suspected gastroparesis.

Long story short, it’s starting to get in top of me so joined to talk to people who are/have been in a similar situation.

Hi Ryan,

Welcome to the forum, a lot of us first join because we are struggling with our role.

You must be on school holiday, now then. This relieves the pressure of juggling working and caring, but the restrictions of 24/7 caring leads to different issues.

How can we help?

Melly1

Hi Melly,

Thank you for your reply.

My partner is struggling with her conditions and I do everything I can to help. But I think burnout has finally hit. Exhaustion has set in and she often perceives that as disinterest.

She has said I’m a partner but I’m not much of a carer, which I have found rather hurtful. She has said that everything I do is what a partner does - which I agree with - and that I may be her carer legally but not in practise.

She says I need to talk to someone - which I agree with - but when I mention issues I’m unhappy with she becomes very defensive and refuses to acknowledge them.

Sorry for such a long post. How are you keeping at the moment?

Hi Ryan,

I don’t think she is much of a partner!!

As you work full time she should be making sure that her health issues are dealt with by someone other than you, as much as possible!! When did she last have a Needs Assessment from Social Services?
What practical help does she need?

Thank you for your reply, BowlingBun.

My partner said she feels I put too much on myself. She feels I do too much when there are things that she can do.