Desperate carer

Hi
I’m a carer for my brother who has severe lung disease he’s on oxygen and just came out if hospital after suffering with respiratory failure
He’s virtually bed bound they have changed all his Meds and now the hospital has sent him home with a nebuliser I tried getting the chambers for it but apparently I have to buy them which I do not begrudge but I gave up work to care for him and the only benefit he gets is ESA I don’t get carers allowance as it says if he is claiming that then I can’t claim it.
I’ve been caring for him for several years and didn’t realise that he could possibly claim pip so I have rang them this week and started ball rolling I’m frustrated that nobody tells you this and maybe if he gets this then I might get carers allowance to help with cost the only money coming in the house is from my partner’s wage.
Also I’m so frustrated that my brother had an appointment at the doctors (which is very difficult for him to manage to get there) at the start of October and he asked if he could have the flu jab as he has it every year the doctor said not my job make another appointment with the nurse that didn’t happen as he hasn’t been well enough for another appointment it would have taken doctor seconds to do.
So any advice for a frustrated carer would be gratefully received thank you for listening x

Welcome to the forum,

It’s a real shame that no one has helped either of you claim the benefits which you are entitled to. If you could give us a bit more information, it would help us give the best advice.

Can I ask what support the hospital arranged for your brother before he was discharged?
Did you know he was entitled to 6 weeks of FREE Reablement Care?
Do you now live with your brother, or do you have your own home?
Does he own, or rent, his home?
Has he arranged a Power of Attorney in your favour?

He sounds very poorly indeed.