Newbie Here

Hi everyone,

Two months ago I became the full time carer for my dad who has late stage lung fibrosis, recently diagnosed with lung and colon cancer. I live in Wales and Dad is the South East. I have had to move back in with him as I am an only child and he doesnt have anyone else. Thankfully my work for the Alzheimers Society is continuing remotely from here.
I think we have been very lucky, since he was discharged from hospital we have had all of the equipment put in the home and a care package of 2hrs per day, all done within a week of diagnosis. We believe he has a few months to live…I guess who knows. Some days he seems ok and others very unwell.

I only work 3 days per week and at present it is manageable, although I am feeling very tired (hormonal fatigue also). He doesnt wake during the night, once I have taken his oxygen off at midnight I get a full nights sleep so I know I am very lucky.

Trying to negotiate my way around which company does what for Dads care and what wellbeing support I can get is the biggest struggle at the moment. We have the hospice nurses coming out next week, which I imagine will be a great help.

I am looking for an online carers support group that isnt during my working hours, that is proving pretty difficult but I will keep searching.

If anyone has anything they think would be useful for me to know as a new carer I would very much appreciate it. Just about to have a search through all of the forums. :slight_smile:

Hi Dionne,
Welcome to the forum. Is dad claiming Attendance Allowance?
Google NHS Continuing Healthcare Framework. If dad qualifies all care is free, but it’s easier to get some places than others.
Ask Social Services to do a Carers Assessment for you and update Dad’s Needs Assessment.

Hi