Dementia

I am 67 years old quite fit and mobile and my partner Lorrain is 61 and as Dementia. Lorrain as hellucination’s and I don’t know how to handle it, I tell her that she is imagining it all but she does shout back that she is not imagining it, I think after a while she comes round to believing me. I find it very difficult to handle and I do understand she cannot help it but still does not find it easy.
Does any one else have this problem ? and how did they go about it?

Sorry Alan I don’t have first hand experience - some links while you wait for others to comment.

Hi Alan,
Welcome.
So sorry to hear that your wife is suffering from this awful disease at such a young age. I have very little experience because my mother was very old and at the end of her life when she began to have ‘strange’ ideas and it did upset me at first. Many people on her are much more knowledgeable.
I have read and believe that to disagree and argue is not the way to cope. Others here have said previously that it is better to go along with it and change the subject as soon as you can then there is no upset and your wife will probably forget what she said.
I suppose it depends whether she has hallucinations, such as seeing someone in the room or a cat on the settee for example or whether it confabulation where she might say that she has been shopping or for a bus ride for example, when you know she has done no such thing.
I have heard –and I am no expert- that to go along with it and ‘pretend’ with her, briefly, helps her to dismiss the thought sooner. Also you might find that she ‘forgets’ that people she knew are no longer alive. If she asks if you have spoken to her deceased relative for example, don’t insist that the person is dead but lie kindly by saying ‘No, but I’ll try tomorrow. Shall I make you a cup of tea?’.
Calm, quiet answers which guide her away from the current delusion will help you both cope, or so I have read.