CARING FOR TWO

Hello everyone, I’m new to CarersUK and this is my first post. I’m hoping to get some advice if anyone can help please. Currently I am official carer to my dad who is 81 and suffers from two different types of cancer, is blind, and is also on dialysis. I receive Carers allowance and a little bit of Income support. Unfortunately we know of course that at his age and with all his problems he wont be with us for ever. Thing is, I find that I’m not only caring for dad but I’m having to do more and more for mum too (at 79 she also suffers from health issues and is entitled to have a carer) don’t get me wrong she is not as poorly as dad and I am managing OK doing things for both of them, but I can see that when anything happens to dad i’ll most likely become official carer to mum. I know I cant Claim Carers allowance for two people at the same time but I was wondering if I should (if its even possible) register as mum’s carer too right now? so that when dad does finally leave us it might make it easier for me benefits wise (i couldn’t afford to be weeks and weeks without any money coming in) to become mum’s carer. So basically I need to know how to move from being dads carer to mum’s with the least upset to my benefits when dad passes away. I know that may sound a bit cold but it’s frightening not knowing whats around the corner. Any help/advice would be very much appreciated.

Thank You

Welcome to the forum,
I can’t answer your question I’m afraid, however I’m concerned that you don’t mention getting any help with caring for your parents. What sort of support they should be getting depends on a number of things. The last question is really the most important one!
When did they each have a Needs Assessment from Social Services, and you, a Carers Assessment?
Do you have Power of Attorney for each of them. If not, arrange this asap!
Do they have over £46,000 between them, or £23,000 each? (yes/no)
Do they own their home?
Do you live with them?