Caring for someone with a rare condition

Hello, super new here but have lurked for a little while. I am 39 and have been caring for my partner for the last year. He has been diagnosed with three rare conditions vasculitis (EGPA), sarcoidosis and ITP. Alongside this he has heart failure and interstitial lung disease all damage caused by the conditions above.

He started to become ill in January of this year and has spent the majority of the year in hospital. Due to the rarity of his conditions he was moved from Wales to a hospital in London, had sepsis 3 times and almost died twice.

I am very new to the caring role but we also have two small children under the age of 6 so I am in effect caring for three people! I am really struggling to manage the complex emotions of caring. I am intensly angry at him and the system. I am sad for what we have lost and what we will never have. I am so sad for my children :cry:.

The ambulance has just taken him back in with another suspected bout of sepsis and I am part relieved , guilty and sad. His life has been ruined and he has never complained, not once. What right to I have to be angry at him and sad for myself? I just spotted his pack of seeds he was hoping to plant as a new hobby and I am crushed.

I would really welcome any advice on caring and any connection with anyone in a caring role for vasculitis or sarcoidosis. Xxx

Hi Winter,
welcome to the forum, though sorry its for such a sad reason.

Firstly does your partner receive any care from outside carers and if so is it enough? There is info here Needs assessment | Carers UK

Have you had a carer’s assessment to see what support you can get? Carer's assessment | Carers UK