Carers Allowance & Income support

Hello Everyone i hope your well i’m actually new to this brilliant site and wish id found it sooner

I’m just looking for some help please because im all new to caring and have been my partners full time Carer now since september 2019

What’s different about our situation is that my partner was the full time worker and i was the stay at home father with the children after swapping roles around 5 years ago. Unfortunately my partner now is in constant daily agony with her issues and has been signed off work long term since October 2019.

We have been living off SSP and tax credits etc but her SSP is due to run out after 28 weeks which is around early May 2020 when it stops along with her working Tax Credits. We will then be losing quite a large chunk of money and with 4 children its going to be even tougher than now

But What i’m actually just trying to find out is would it be possible for me to claim Income Support to help support us both ? She was only granted full Maximum PIP on both counts this week. I have also now applied for Carers allowance this week so thats going to be another 6 weeks + to get a answer on that so any advice would be fantastic .

We are also on the old legacy benefits system and also claiming housing and council tax benefits if that makes any difference ?

Thanks In Advance

Hi David … welcome to an extremely quiet forum as I type.

Almost a grand tour of the present zoo of benefits and allowances ?

And , not yet to be infected by Universal Credit on your manor ?

That’s one bullet dodged … for now.

Okay , a two pronged attack.

Firstly , time to crunch some numbers … an online benefits calculator :

https://www.entitledto.co.uk/

That will give you a general idea of what’s available given your circumstances … feel free to change
any of the parameters to achieve answers to " What if " scenarios.