Anti-depressants

Hello,

It’s been a really grim couple of weeks following on from the slog of this year caring for my husband with heart failure. I’ve been caring for him for about 8 years but a heart attack in March has left us living on a knife edge with fluctuating symptoms and frightening flare-ups. I felt very down for about two months recently, but now the anxiety had taken over. Feel exhausted from the continuous emotional rollercoaster, but sleep is no longer the friend it was, partly because of anxiety and partly because my husband has disturbed sleep and terrible fear when he gets breathless at night. He was really ill as a result of side effects from a new medication last week, and there seemed no time to recover from the stress of that as I still need to keep the show on the road, which is how it goes continually. I have been contemplating talking to my GP about my depression and anxiety for a few weeks, and about the possibility of taking anti-depressants. I have always avoided them in the past, as was worried about side effects, but think I am willing to try them now. Has anyone got any experience of taking them that they would be happy to share? Just can’t see how I can carry on like this indefinitely. Any thoughts very welcome. Thank you.

You need help and rest.
Antidepressants made me so half awake and I didn’t have energy for my caring role.
When did your husband last have a Needs Assessment, and you a Carers Assessment, from Social Services?