Stressed for the future

Hi all,

So I have 2 brothers, both of whom are disabled in different ways. My younger brother is severely sight impaired and has complicated medical issues and my older brother was very recently diagnosed with Asperger’s and suffers from pretty severe anxiety.

I’m a full-time university student and next year my younger brother is moving in with me so he can also attend the same university, making me his full-time carer, which thus far has been my mother’s main role with myself only caring for him part-time. I’m worried about the responsibilities of taking on this full-time care role and balancing this with my studies as I will be going into my final year of study. My brother moving in with me is the only realistic way of him being able to attend university and I don’t want to deprive him of that opportunity but I’m also worried about the added strain it will put on me having to look after the both of us.

As for my older brother, he does not get on with my parents and I’m concerned about what would happen if he also ended up having to move in with me. He cannot support himself and my parents struggle to understand his autism and are increasingly growing impatient with him due to their lack of understanding.
I love both of my brothers and want what’s best for them but I also don’t want to have to give up my own future for the sake of theirs.

I don’t really know what I’m asking for here as I know other people have it much more difficult than I do, I guess I just want some encouragement that it will all be okay. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

thanks,
sc00bz

I don’t think this is fair on you, it’s going to affect your grades!. If he is bright enough to attend university, then he needs to find out what sort of support they can offer. What is going to happen after you have graduated? How will he manage then? Going forward, where will he live etcetc.

Hi sc00bysnaxx,