Boyfriend cares for me, how can he be supported?

Hello Everyone!

I hope this posts like these are allowed!!

I’m a 19 yo university student who is moderately ill with ME/CFS. This is a neological condition that limits how much I can do, I don’t leave the house often and can’t live a normal student lifestyle. I’m worried about how this is affecting my boyfriend who lives with me and cares for me about 9ish hours a week. He helps me cook, gets me up, and sometimes helps with washing when I’m in a crash. He doesn’t help me around the clock but I’m worried about how a caring responsibility is effecting him and preventing him from living a normal student lifestyle. He doesn’t see his friends as often and is very reluctant to leave me on my own with our other housemates even though I’ve said this is ok!!

What type of support would he be able to access? Would he be able to attend like a young carers group even though we’re 19 and he doesn’t care for me for a lot of hours a week? Do the university have any responsibility to help support him caring for me?

I’ve asked him about university counselling but he doesn’t want to “take away slots from someone that might need it more”
I don’t know much abut the help carers can get and I want to help him through this because I don’t want him to look back on this time at university and think he couldn’t do what everyone else is doing.

Thanks everyone !!All the best

Hi R/VC,

(I think you changed your username as I was typing my reply.)

How long have you been going out?

Your boyfriend can let Uni know he is a carer and the Uni should have policies re carer. Likewise you can let Uni know about your condition if you haven’t already. You could have a Needs assessment and then gave a paid carer to help you get up each morning instead of relying on him, however 9 hours a week doesn’t sound too onerous.

Do his friends come over to visit?

Melly1

Hi!