Stressed carer

I’m new to the forum and would like to chat to other carers about how to manage stress as this is becoming an increasing problem for me.

I’ve been caring for my husband all our married life really (35 years): he has muscular dystrophy and has been a wheelchair user for the last 25-20 years. What I find hard is not the caring for him but the bad moods, nastiness and general awfulness he experiences as he hates being disabled so much. Inevitably it affects me. I hate moaning like this because I know other carers have much more difficult situations to contend with but I’m so tired of it.

Just to communicate with someone else in a similar position would help.

Thanks for reading this.

Liz

I’ve been a carer for over 40 years, since my son was brain damaged at birth.
I used to be Superwoman, as well as caring I studied for am Honours degree, ran a business, a national club, and as if that wasn’t enough, most weekends we would be at a steam rally with my husband’s engine.
All went well until I was diagnosed with kidney cancer, had major surgery, found my husband dead in bed, and was nearly killed in a head on smash - all within 2 years!
Now I’m 70. How I long for my old energy, but It’s gone forever.

I suspect you are simply burned out.
Your husband should be doing everything to make the caring role easier, not being nasty to you!
When did you last have a proper break from caring? A two week holiday in the sun?

It’s time you made a stand.
Start by recording his nastiness on your phone, and playing it back to him later and ask if he feels it’s acceptable. It isn’t. Actually, it’s domestic abuse!
Ask Social Services for a Carers Assessment, to be done away from home.

No one can be forced to care, even a wife for a husband.

Hello Liz