Safeguarding investing outcomes not been told

Hi all, lately I have been having trouble with my catering role and have spoken about it on here. We have had two safeguarding investigation but no one has really told us about the outcomes or what is happening next. The only outcome was changing mum medicine being given out. No one has spoken to us since the police did a welfare check so still in the dark. I am wondering if it worth considering to contact the safeguarding team to find out some sort of answer?

Hi Michael,

@Charlesh47 will have more experience of advising about this.

However, if it were me I think I would contact them, the worst they can say is that they won’t discuss it with you …

Do you or your parents have an advocate?

Hi Michael. I’m not an expert in these things, but there is a tendency towards secrecy in safeguarding cases, and this is partly because there’s always a possibility that the police will look to charging an individual (unlikely in this case as actions have been agreed and the police have not interviewed you since). Also because they aim to protect witnesses or people who have raised concerns. However, they should discuss the situation with you rather than just hand down decisions, and they should be looking at whether you as a carer need support. That is a key area for safeguarding in most areas I’ve checked.

One thing they absolutely should have done from the start was offer an advocate to support you and explain the process. That’s a legal requirement where an individual has “substantial difficulty” in understanding the process. As no one has explained it to you, that fits the legal definition. After all, if you don’t know the rules, you can’t play the game properly. So I suggest, as Melly says, that you do contact them - and ask for a full explanation of what is happening and ask why they haven’t yet offered an advocate to support you through the process.

Thanks I will, contact them and see what is said.