Partner not listening to advice

Hello - this is my first time posting. I’m feeling really stuck but am really pleased this forum exists even just to vent to people who will understand.

I care for my partner (soon to be husband) - he is autistic and struggles with OCD, anxiety and depression. We both have regular therapy and speak with the doctors, but I don’t feel like he’s taking professional advice seriously. If I try to push the advice of therapists or doctor’s, and he doesn’t like it (i.e. going to see his parents makes him stressed due to contamination anxiety and taking his medication makes him stressed because he’s worried he’ll be addicted), then he tells me I have betrayed him because I’m the one he can depend on to support him. He always apologises for his outbursts and I understand it’s difficult in the moment because he lives in this state of constant fear and frustration.
However, irrespective surely he should be following professional advice!

It feels like there are a million other things going on I could take about here - but any shared experiences or advice on being the carer but also the "enforcer"would be so helpful. I feel like I’m the only one who makes him feel truly loved and heard but then when I try to get him to follow advice, in his eyes I undermine that. I then worry about how alone he feels when he doesn’t think I’m “on his side”.

Thank you!

Hi Lydia

I don’t have the answers to this, you have got a big task on your hands for sure.
Maybe he needs more processing time or there’s a bee in his bonnet that is sticking
Some things will never be resolved, others take time or a very long time
Not feeling heard, listened to understood can make it far worse in the mind of a neurodiverse.
As an ASD I get his responses but I cannot give answers.

Are you aware of this website that could help you as well?

There is a forum and a section for carers
https://community.autism.org.uk/f/parents-and-carers