Not coping well

Hi
I’m new to asking for help and support as I’ve always been the one others go to but … well… I expect you all know what I mean.
My husband had severe pneumonia, was in hospital for 2 months and took 6 months or so to recover. Then after 3 months he had 2 strokes and another 6 months later. That was a year ago. He’s now waiting to hear whether he has Vascular Dementia or not. (he’s really been through it!)
However, I’m starting to feel overwhelmed by it all. He’s fine with other people and he sees others several times a week but when it’s just us (no family) he is totally different. One minute he’s OK and then if I say anything remotely negative he starts to cry, well, he makes crying noises but rarely has tears.
I go to a small support group once a month but, unfortunately, one lady uses me as a shoulder to cry on, not what I need, but it’s difficult to avoid her.
I don’t know what I expect from this rant but I’m hoping someone can just give me a lift and maybe some advice.
Thanks
Shirley

Hi Shirley,
Hello and welcome.
Gosh poor hubby has been through a bad time, but so have you. Witnessing something so horrid happening to someone dear to you with all the fear, worry and upset it brings is different, but just as traumatic as being the one it is happening to.
What are your circumstances, in that do you have family close by? Any support other than that once a month? Do you get some time away from your caring role apart from that one outing? Any help coming in?
How old are you both?
Sorry, for all the questions. Not just being nosy, but members can help, or point you towards help if we understand more.
That imminent diagnosis is very scary to wait for. When will you hear? Hubby is probably very anxious and possibly depressed? Perhaps a word with the doctors?