New

Hi,
Despite being a member for a couple of years now, I have not posted on here.
My wife has Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia but not serious enough that she needs full time care. We are both in our early 30’s.
On bad days, she will be in bed all day and need someone to provide food/drinks etc, but on good days she can do things around the house.
I have never felt worthy of being a carer and I guess don’t like feeling like I am or that my wife is I’ll enough.
She has a blue badge, but no other financial help (like pip) because they have said it’s not severe enough.
I am a full time teacher and spend most of my evenings providing food/drinks and doing jobs around the house.
We live off my income. My wife started a uni course as a mature student back in 2016 but still has to complete this after taking lots of time out.
We are so blessed with many things in life and others are much worse off than we are, which I guess is why I don’t feel like I count as a carer.

Not sure why I am even posting on here, just feels lonely sometimes when those around have no idea how it feels to be me.

Hello & welcome Tim

I do think your wife would be entitled to some benefits and would suggest you discuss applying. Citizens Advice Carers UK can provide help in this area. Likewise a local carers group would help complete the forms. You don’t need to be getting carers allowance to join a local carers group.

When another person who has knowledge of the PIP criteria and completing the form. They ask relevant questions you and your wife may not have thought of. I have suggested to many to claim varies benefit who may have been deterred by the process and have had very successful outcomes.

It’s doesn’t mean you will in turn need to start claiming carers allowance. And it’s important you retain your employment. You are both young and there is a long road ahead. You both need to start thinking what will make our lives better.