Hi.
I am new to this but things have got to such a point that I need somewhere to get advice and talk to others.
Up until March when the lockdown hit I was working in a school. I was also caring for my husband who has MS. I was just about coping at that point. As time went on I realised that because of my husband’s vulnerability I would take early retirement. (I am 63).
I am a very sociable person and missed my friends and colleagues, still do.
My husband has good and bad days as the condition dictates. the main sticking point is he refuses to give up smoking. He only smokes outside or by the back door. Frequently this causes him to fall. As the back door is in the utility room, there is little room to manoeuvre him upright, plus I am not strong enough to haul him about! It then exhausts him to get back into a chair, but an hour later, he’ll do it all over again. Sometimes he will then wet himself too, leading to another problem. He never says sorry!
Over the past few weeks we’ve had terrible arguments. I don’t think he realises how much I have given up. We aren’t having any visits from family because of the restrictions, but I have discovered our son and his partner have formed a support bubble with her parents. We have one grandson who is 18 months old. I feel useless and forgotten. People always ask how my husband is before they ask how I am.
During the night i get up at least twice to assist him going to the toilet.
He won’t consider carers…that’s what I’m for!
Not sure where to go from here, but my mental health is definitely suffering. I don’t like to worry my son and daughter. Not a lot anyone can do really in the current state of things.

Hi Sue,