New member asking for guidance and advice

Hi, I am new to this forum, just trying to find my way around?
I have been caring for my husband for ten years since he was diagnosed with rare neurological degenerative condition in 2007. His mobility has decreased significantly over recent years and his sensory loss has spread too.
There is no support network for his condition, the closest is possibly Charcot-Marie-Tooth / or possibly MND- so it is very easy to feel isolated when you cannot find any person with exactly the same condition.
I have been claiming CA since I stopped working in 2012, but I am due to receive my State Pension later this year.
I have never had a Carers Assessment, and for the record my husband hasn’t seen a OT or anyone from social services since we downsized into a smaller home in 2011. We made adaptations ourselves with the only additions from the OT- a stairlift provided and grab rails in the shower/ wet-room, plus elephant feet for our sofa
They told us that because we had made the structural changes ourselves, we were no longer able to claim a ‘retrospective disability Facilities grant’ to help with the building costs.
It seems we are finding out that there is more help out there, but we were ignorant in where to find that help? I am hoping that by joining Carers UK, I am going to find the support we need going forward.

I am concerned that my health could affect my ability to give him the care he needs as I get older, but more so he is entitled to better support- and not feel he has slipped through the ‘net’ and off the social care needs list?
I know we must take responsibility somewhat for just getting on with our lives as best we can, being independent as possible, but I am truly concerned for the future needs he may have?
Any input and guidance would be welcome?

Welcome to the forum.