My husband passed away last month, I need financial support

I am a university student and I have 2 children. My husband was supporting the family financially and we have missed it now. Where can I go to speak about any available support for international students?

Hello & welcome Mahboobeh

Condolences for the loss of your husband.

Your University should be able to offer you support and sign post to organisations that can assist you.

What ages are your children? You could also speak to your children’s schools.

Google search …

https://www.ukcisa.org.uk/Information--Advice

Thanks
They are 2/5 and 11

You could try a benefits calculator and/or make a visit to a local Citizens Advice.

There is plenty of support it’s just knowing where to find it.

How are you and your children since their father passed.

Hi Mahboobeh

How are you and did you manage to get any help?

I looked after both my parents in our family home since 2000. My mum passed in 2003, she needed constant care which I shared with my dad. He passed in 2017 and two years before he died I approached my sister who was dealing with his will because I was anxious about what would happen when he died. He wanted to change his will because he wanted to safeguard my tenancy at home and stop my sister throwing me out once he had gone.

I took him to the doctor’s to get his OK to write a new will as per solicitor’s instructions but because of his dementia the doctor refused.

I have since had trouble with my sister threatening to evict me unless I pay her her share of the property even though she lives in a £2m house in the Surrey Hills with a swimming pool inside! I cannot afford to do this as I had promised mum to gift her grandchildren money once dad passed and don’t have the funds to stay here. It is a small bungalow where I lived with them and was born here. She won’t accept any less than what she is entitled to having written my parent’s wills herself with the collusion of a solicitor.