Looking for support from other carers - carer for my dad who has Parkinson’s

Hi is this forum still open I’m new to all this only just joined I’m looking for support from other carers as I’m a carer for my dad who has Parkinson’s
Thanks Nikki xx

2 Likes

Hi @Nikki_Anne

Yes the forum is open and we are all here out in cyber space.

I hope you find the forum supportive and helpful.

I don’t have experience of caring for someone with Parkinsons but I do have experience of what it’s like to be a carer.

Others on here will have understanding of Parkinsons and/or caring for a parent.

3 Likes

Thank you Mel hope ure ok I’m looking forward to chatting on here to other carers for support it’s hard work sometimes but if I know people are here to support me that will help me a bit xxx

2 Likes

@Nikki_Anne , the good thing about the forum is we all know what its like to be a carer - the good, the bad and the ugly! You can find practical advice, friendship and support on here.

You might also like the Care for a Cuppa sessions that Carers Uk organise:

https://www.carersuk.org/help-and-advice/your-health-and-wellbeing/online-meetups/

@Nikki_Anne
Welcome! I’m glad to see you found Roll Call, it’s a great place to chat ‘over the fence’ with a cup of something.

Share as much or as little as you want & feel comfortable with. You’ll find we express our full range of moods here, it’s a safe space to air and vent and feel listened to and understood. A BIG warm embrace of empathy with a good dose of humour (as dark as you want it) and mischievousness from a few members (you know who you are!)! :wink:

Are you able to get any time to yourself, to do something kind & compassionate for you too? I’m not going to sprout any clichés (take a look at why: The worst clichés people say)