Just joined the forum

I’ve been caring for my Mum for several years (and my Dad before he died 4 years ago) with a Carer calling each morning for 3 years to wash and dress her. Unfortunately, she had to go into hospital with pneumonia so she lost her Package of Care as our LA removes it after a week. She’s now been in for 7 weeks and has declined rapidly. Her initial treatment actually ended after 10 days and the doctors said she could be discharged but neither OT nor Social Worker did anything until I complained to their respective managers. Mum is now so bad she’s been awarded CHC (though that took 2 weeks after applying).

I’ve been told that the Local Health Board (we’re in Wales) will take 6 weeks or more to find a PoC (that will mean she’s been away from home for 13+ weeks). Without CHC the wait for a PoC would have been much longer - Social Worker says over 200 on waiting list in our LA and some people wait over a year.

I’m trying to get Mum into a Care Home while we wait but that hasn’t been easy either. I’ve had to phone everyone myself throughout this to get anything done at all. I’m hoping to get her out of hospital soon and then really hope the PoC isn’t delayed beyond 6 weeks.

She needs much more care now than before admission (4 double calls a day rather than one single call) so it will be harder.

Sorry for length of introduction! I hope the forum will be a help to me as things progress.

Hi Davidge, sorry to hear about your mum.

My mum would be OK for a while, end up going into hospital for something, and come out a bit worse than before.
Endless battles with hospital ward sisters, social services etc. Horrible and exhausting too, as I also have a son with severe learning difficulties, and was in the process of having two knee replacements.
As mum has been awarded CHC, can you have Direct Payments instead? (not sure how it works in Wales).
It might be easier for you to find carers locally this way.

How old is mum?