I've just joined

I’ve been caring for my mum since 2013. She had a stroke in 2010. At times it has been very hard. Before the stroke she was very active. She used to do her own decorating. Now she is very frail, and even struggles to walk short distances. She fills me with worry sometimes. If we need to go to the doctor’s we use the wheelchair to get there. Now mum is 80 and gets very depressed. I feel her frustration and I can understand why she gets fed up. I’m dreading the day when she dies. And the inevitable feelings and challenges that come with it. When it does happen what will I do then? I have many regrets in my life but being my mum’s carer is not one of them. Do all carers think this way of is it just me? And this pandemic has just turned things upside down.

Welcome to the forum. What help are you getting? How much regular time off do you have?

At the moment it is just me and mum. Because I live with her. The doctor did say if we needed help we can just ask for it. For now we are managing. I came on this forum to talk to other carers about how they feel and what struggles they have. Because being a carer you feel totally alone.

I’m now 68. At one time all four of our parents, all living locally, were entitled to highest DLA Care, so was our brain damaged son.
Now all the parents have passed away, so has my husband, brother, and lovely sister in law.
I was constantly torn between what I wanted to do and what I could do.
I always thought that my husband and I would have many happy years to do what we wanted after the parents had died. He said sadly to me one day “We lived too near them” because they kept telling everyone like doctors and Social Services that they were OK because of us!
My husband died in 2006, mum died around 2016.
All my dreams have turned into dust. I am well qualified, worked for my husband, so I lost my employer, and had 30 tons of vintage lorry spares to deal with.