Introduction to myself as a carer

Hi, my name is Lorraine and I am new to Carers Connect although not new to the caring role. I care for my husband who has a duel diagnosis of dementia and Alzheimer’s.
I am just looking for some support for myself in this role when I feel that things are tough; nobody prepares you for this role and sometimes it is a very lonely place to be
thank you
Lorraine

1 Like

@lojwilliams1607 Hi Lorraine, welcome to the forum! It’s great to have you aboard…gosh that sounds like a cruise ship welcome and I SO know we’re not that - unfortunately! :wink:
It sounds like you’ve been caring for your husband for quite a long time. If you don’t mind me asking or sharing could you share more details, do you have support at home, carers? family? neighbours or friends who offer a hand now and again?

I totally get it, as does everyone here - it’s tough and isolating and sometimes you don’t see the outside unless its for an appointment at the hospital or GP practice…our world shrinks to well trodden paths and locations. BUT you don’t need to be lonely now you’re here
Hop over to Roll Call where there’s general chat - like neighbours, we vent, cry, shout, tell jokes…anything, everything as much or as little as you feel you want to share, OR just have a read.
Ohhh do you have pets? There are dog and cat parents here, as well as the human kind of parents :wink:
https://forum.carersuk.org/t/roll-call-march-2024/124620?u=victoria_1806