I'm new to the forum

Hi I’m Gill and I’m new to the forum. I have been caring for my husband for almost 5 years since he was knocked down by a car. He had previously had a couple of strokes and bowel cancer and was an acholic. However he was still able to get around but since the accident he has suffered with bad he seizures and dementia. Two months ago he was admitted to a nursing home as the neurologist had recommended that he needed 24 hour care with 2 carers to support him moving. He is now unable to feed himself and mostly refusing food and drink together with his medication. I visit him nearly every day, sometimes he knows I’m there but often there is seizure activity and then he will sleep for long periods.
Its not too bad for me but for my two adult children it is sooo hard.

Hi Gill,

I’m really sorry to hear of your situation.
Holiday times like this, traditionally when families have get togethers, it seems so much harder. (I’m widowed).

Is funding for the nursing home all sorted out?

Can I ask how old you, your husband, and children are?
What aspect of dad’s situation do your children find most difficult?
Are they aware that dad is going down a slippery slope towards dying?

I would strongly recommend Googling “Signs of Dying”, because you will find lots of information written by people from the hospice movement. These explain why a patient doesn’t want to eat or drink. They will not die because they have not eaten or drunk enough, they CANNOT eat or drink much because the body is very ill, and the body organs know how much they can, or cannot, cope with.

Are you prepared for your own future?
When did you last get away for a few days?

Hello Gill and welcome,